Thomas Wallace

Lectures and Resources

About

Contact Information

Name
Thomas Wallace III
Position
Information Technology Minor and Information Science Faculty at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Mailing address
EIT 547 – 2801 South University
Little Rock, AR 72204
USA

My Whereabouts

Bio

My name is Thomas Wallace, and I’ve been working on the Internet since 1999. In that time, a lot has changed and continues to change in the way we build web sites. I was drawn to the field because it provided a creative outlet for me. I have always enjoyed figuring out how things work and problem solving, and in this field, I draw on those skills on a daily basis. Prior to teaching at UALR, I worked for the University as web developer for five years. The culmination of my efforts in that position, was the redesign of the www.ualr.edu web site. During this process, I realized that there was a real need for standards-based web development, in order for users and developers alike, to realize the true potential of the web. The next logical step was to return to the classroom, and share with others what I have learned.

Education

Family

I am blessed to have a great family who has provided tons of support and encouragement over the years. My wife Brooke and I have been married for 15 years and have two children. I have one sibling, a sister, named Blair who who works for a local advertising agency. She loves to travel, skydive, and scuba dive.

My father and mother, Tom and Carolyn, live locally as well. My Father is enjoying his tenth year of retirement, while my mother recently joined him after a career with a local law firm. Both are fun loving people who have been excellent parents.

Anyone who knows me would tell you that my animals are a big part of my life. Scout is an Australian / German Shepard as is her younger sibling, Sylvie. Both are excellent companions and protectors of the kids.

Hobbies

Most of my hobbies center on my love of traveling and exploring. I have spent about two years abroad in Europe, lugging a backpack around, experiencing as many cultures as possible. I have visited 23 countries in all, and as long as I’m still breathing, I hope to continue to expand the list. Early on I traveled primarily alone, but the past few trips have been with my Father. In 2004, we attended Oktoberfest in Munich, and toured the Wachau wine region in Austria. In the spring of 2006, we made a beer tasting tour of Belgium, Holland, Germany, and Switzerland. Our most recent trip focused on south eastern Bavaria.

When I’m not traveling I like to spend time working on my home, cooking with friends, and spending time outdoors. In years past, I freelanced as a wilderness guide taking people rock climbing, caving, canoeing and hiking. If you are ever looking for a good weekend getaway in the woods, drop me a line and I’ll share with you some of my favorite spots.

I am also an avid rock climber. Every year I compete in the 24 Hours of Horseshoe Hell climbing competition in Jasper, Arkansas. It is an endurance climbing competition that attracts world-class climbers and climbing enthusiasts from around the country.

Another favorite pastime of mine is playing the guitar. My father brought one home 20 years ago, and I have been playing ever since. I primarily play an acoustic Yamaha DW-4s, but I also have a Gibson Mandolin that I pick around on at times.

Every year Brooke and I host a block party called the Hillcrest Bugbash. It’s a great excuse for spending the day out in the sunshine and eating good food.

In the Fall of 2009 our family purchased some land and a log cabin in Jasper, Arkansas. If I am not teaching or building web sites, that is where you will find me.